Hi everyone Techbunji is here and we’ll tell you how to format and resetting MacBook pro or M1 MacBook Air, MacBook Mini, or any future apple silicon as it’s a little bit different. First, make sure you have a backup because when we’re done, this will remove all information, all accounts, and all information will be removed and erased from your MacBook.

Follow all these steps for Factory data reset MacBook pro 2021

Make sure you have a backup before you erase all

Make sure you have a backup

So make sure you have a backup before you get started with a fairly current version because there were problems with early versions reinstalling mac OS.

Make sure your Mac software is up to date

Make sure your Mac software is up to date

Click on the apple in the upper left and go to about this mac, make sure that you’re on newer versions. If you are using the old version then click on software update now let’s go ahead.

Signing out of iCloud and iMessage

Signing out of iCloud and iMessage

Then we need to remove our accounts from the device (iCloud & iMessage)

  • To do that go to system preferences (you can find it in Taskbar) or you can get there the same way by clicking on the apple in the upper left and go into the system preferences.
  • Select apple id, you need to now sign out of your apple id. Click on overview once and click sign out. (Make sure that have your passwords when you get to the next step)
  • Then you’ll have to put in your password, this is your iCloud password this disassociates us from iCloud and also turns off find my mac you have to put in the password of the mac itself.

Entering Recovery mode on M1 Apple Silicon

Entering Recovery mode on M1 Apple Silicon
  • Go to the apple icon and click shut down, it will take just a moment.
  • Now that the mac is shut down, on m1 mac you need to do or an apple silicon mac is press the power button but keep your finger on it keep it pressed down in order to get to the settings (press it and keep holding).
  • You’ll see it’s booting up and it says continue holding for startup options so you need to continue holding it. Then it loads the startup options and then you can continue.
  • Then there you can see 2 options, one is drive and the second is Option. Click on Options It’ll take just a moment to boot.
  • Once it’s booted to the options it’ll examine volumes and then select a user you know, then it will ask for your password. If you don’t know this password then you can click on forget or forgot all passwords. (you can give the same password you would log into your mac)
  • click continue and now you can see your option to erase everything, there you can see 4 options

Then click on disk utility and then click continue.

  •  Tap on your drive on the left it will be the one highlighted, just click on the highlighted one. Then click erase now keep in mind this will remove everything from the device.  
  • Tap on your drive on the left it will be the one highlighted, just click on the highlighted one. Then click erase now keep in mind this will remove everything from the device.

Then select any format and then click erase mac and then you’ll have to click it one more time erase mac and restart.

Reinstalling mac OS

Reinstalling mac OS
  • Once the mac reboots then it will show you to select language. Select your language and then click the arrow in the bottom right.
  • Now you need to activate mac and select a Wi-Fi network from the menu or attach a network cable to proceed. So in the upper right, you’ve got your network click on that and then you’ll need to sign in to your wireless network or connect a network cable.
  • Once you’re connected to your network you’ll see an icon change to a steady icon in the upper right and it will activate the mac. (Just connect the network)
  • Now it says your mac is activated we’ll click exit to recovery utilities
  • Now you need to click reinstall mac os big sur then click continue. Just select agree and go ahead with the ongoing process and make sure you have a full battery if you’re not plugging it in. it tells you the amount of time, but it varies depending on your internet connection as well

Now your mac has been completely restored and all data has been erased and all accounts are no longer associated with this mac. So you’re good to go to give it away return it or maybe sell it and everything is safe and secure no more data is on this device and so hopefully this helped you out.

Buy Latest Macbook from here